WIPL Auction: Smriti Mandhana Most Expensive At 3.4Cr, 2 Overseas Players Get 3.2Cr Each

Mumbai: India opener Smriti Mandhana was the costliest player at the Women’s Premier League (WPL) Auction, which is underway at Jio World Convention Centre in Mumbai, with Royal Challengers Bangalore bidding for her at Rs 3.40 crore.

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur was the second player to be signed in the auction after Smriti Mandhana. The three-way bidding race between Mumbai, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals ended with Mumbai Indians signing the star all-rounder for Rs 1.80 crore on Monday.

Ashleigh Gardner was the second-most expensive player with a bid of Rs 3.2 crore by Gujarat Giants.


Smriti Mandhana – 3.4 crore (RCB)
Ashleigh Gardner – 3.2 crore (GG)
Harmanpreet Kaur – 1.8 crore (MI)
Sophie Ecclestone – 1.8 crore (UPW)
Ellyse Perry – 1.7 crore (RCB)
Sophie Devine – 50 lakh (RCB)
Hayley Matthews – Unsold


In the second set, Deepti Sharma was sold to Up Warriorz for 2.60 crore. while right-arm pacer Renuka Singh, who is known for the art of swinging the ball, was fetched by RBC for 1.50 crore, Mumbai Indians made a bid of 3.2 crore for Nat Sciver.

Nat Sciver – 3.2 Cr (MI)
Deepti Sharma – 2.6 Cr (UPW)
Beth Mooney – 2 Cr (GG)
Renuka Singh – 1.50 Cr (RCB)
Tahlia McGrath – 1.4 Cr (MI)
Shabnim Ismail – 1 Cr (UPW)
Amelia Kerr – 1 Cr (MI)



Jemimah Rodrigues – 2.20 Cr (DC)
Shafali Verma – 2 Cr (DC)
Sophia Dunkley – 60 lakh (GG)
Meg Lanning – 50 lakh (DC)
Suzie Bates – Unsold
Tazmin Brits – Unsold
Laura – Unsold
Tammy Beaumont – Unsold


A total of 1,525 players registered for the inaugural Women’s Premier League Player Auction and the final list was pruned to over 449 players. A maximum of 90 slots are available with the five teams- Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Lucknow Warriors and Royal Challengers Bangalore – with 30 being slotted for overseas players.

Seven players from Odisha – – Madhuri Meheta, Rasanara Parwin, Kajal Jena, SB Lorence, Sujata Mallick, Priyanka Priyadarshini Sahoo and Sushree Dibyadarshini – will also go under the hammer.

The Women’s Premier League will be played in Mumbai from March 4 to 26. Brabourne Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium will play host to a total of 22 matches.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.