Odisha’s Efforts To Solve Border Dispute With Four States Still On

The Odisha government has said that it has no major border conflict with Andhra Pradesh, except with regard to 21 villages under Kotia gram panchayat in Koraput district.

Odisha shares its border with Andhra Pradesh in five districts — Koraput, Malkangiri, Rayagada, Gajapati and Ganjam.

Although both the states have conducted joint inspections in the villages and one reserve forest in Ganjam district, the report has not been prepared. As a result, there has been no progress in the matter. In Gajapati district too, there have been joint inspections in 16 villages. The state government has also been contemplating opening a police station in Kotia gram panchayat.

Other states
Apart from Andhra Pradesh, Odisha also has long-standing border disputes with West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. The Collectors of Balasore district of Odisha and Purba Medinipur of West Bengal have been advised to resolve the dispute amicably. Odisha is trying to settle border disputes with West Bengal on the basis of revenue maps drawn by then Balasore District Collector in 1938.

As for Jharkhand, the border dispute is due to the change in the course of river Baitarani.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.