Odisha Received 31.5% Deficit Rainfall In June

Bhubaneswar: Odisha had received 31.5% deficit rainfall by June 30, according to the Special Relief Commissioner’s (SRC) office.

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) said the average rainfall in Odisha from June 1 to July 1 was 216.5 mm. The state recorded 148.3 mm rainfall during this period .

As per available information, Jajpur, Koraput, Dhenkanal and Nabarangpur districts have received normal rainfall. However, the remaining 26 districts recorded deficit rainfall.

While Cuttack district received 19.5% deficit rainfall, there was 20%-30% less rain in the districts of Puri, Malkangiri, Bhadrak, Jharsuguda, Khurda, Sonepur, Jagatsinghpur and Ganjam. Deogarh, Bargarh, Kendrapara, Angul, Nuapada, Mayurbhanj, Kalahandi, Balasore and Sambalpur districts recorded 30%-38% deficit rainfall.

The districts of Nayagarh, Keonjhar, Balangir, Kandhamal and Sundargarh have received 40%-50% deficit rainfall.

By July 1, the deficit rainfall in Nayagarh district was 40.4% followed by Keonjhar (41.1%), Balangir (42.3%), Kandhamal (42.8%) and Sundargarh (49.5%).

Meanwhile, a drought situation is looming in Rayagada and Gajapati districts large due to the way below normal rainfall in these areas. As against the normal rainfall of 203.7 mm, only 80.7 mm rainfall was recorded in Rayagada district between June 1 and July 1. During the period, Gajapati district received 69.2 mm rainfall as against the normal rainfall of 207.1 mm.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.