Latest Breaking News India

Resignations Continue To Jolt BJP In UP: Eight MLAs Quit Party In Three Days

Lucknow: Two more BJP MLAs have quit the saffron party in Uttar Pradesh, with less than a month to go for Assembly polls in the state.

OBC leader Mukesh Verma, BJP MLA from Shikohabad Assembly constituency in Firozabad in western UP, resigned from the party on Thursday.

Hours after Verma, another BJP MLA Vinay Shakya also resigned.

After tweeting his resignation, Verma surfaced at the home of Swami Prasad Maurya, also an OBC leader who started the series of resignations.

In his resignation letter, Verma alleged neglect of Dalits, backward castes, minorities and other sections by the BJP in the state. He said that he will continue the “fight for justice” under Maurya.

Like Verma, Shakya too said that Maurya was their leader. “Swami Prasad Maurya is the voice of the downtrodden and he is our leader. I am with him,” Shakya wrote in his resignation letter.

With Verma and Shakya, eight BJP legislators, including two ministers, have left the party over the last three days.

Others who have quit the BJP over the last three days are Avtar Singh Bhadana, Brijesh Kumar Prajapati, Roshan Lal Varma, Bhagwati Sagar and Vinay Shakya.

Uttar Pradesh will vote in seven phases to elect 403 MLAs from February 10 to March 7.

Comments are closed.