Bibhu Routray Appointed Orissa HC Judge

Cuttack: The Centre on Wednesday notified the appointment of Judicial Officer Bibhu Prasad Routray as a Judge of the Orissa High Court here.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of Article 217 of the Constitution of India, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Bibhu Prasad Routray , to be a Judge of the Orissa high Court with effect from the date he assumes charges of his office,” said an official communiqué by Union Ministry of Law and Justice.

Currently posted at Berhampur, Routray had earlier served as the District Judge of Nabarangpur.

On October 3, the Supreme Court Collegium recommended appointments of judicial officer Bibhu Prasad Routray and Advocate Sanjeeb Kumar Panigrahi as judges of the High Court in Cuttak. However, the notification is silent on Panigrahi’s elevation.

The Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court in May this year had recommended the names of eight advocates – Gautam Mukherji, Samir Kumar Mishra, Prasanna Kumar Parhi,  Savitri Ratho,  Prafulla Kumar Rath, Durga Prasad Nanda, Pravat Kumar Muduli, and Sanjeeb Kumar Panigrahi for appointment as judges.

While Savitri Ratho’s elevation was deferred, the collegium had remitted the names of six other advocates to the High Court.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.