Latest Breaking News India

Banks To Remain Closed For 21 Days During ‘Major Holiday’ October

Bhubaneswar: With several festivals, including Dussehra and Eid-e-Miladunnabi, scheduled for October, banks will remain closed for 21 days during this major holiday month. Internet banking services, however, will continue as usual.

In Odisha, banks will remain shut for 10 days.

Here is a look at the bank holidays across various states in October:

October 2 (Saturday): Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti; banks across the country will be closed

October 3 – Sunday

October 6 (Wednesday): Mahalaya Amavasya; banks will be closed in Tripura, Karnataka, West Bengal

October 7 (Thursday): Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi; banks will be closed in Manipur

October 9 – 2nd Saturday

October 10 – Sunday

October 12 (Tuesday): Durga Puja (Maha Saptami); banks will be closed in Tripura, West Bengal

October 13 (Wednesday): Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami); banks will be closed in Tripura, Odisha, Assam, West Bengal, Manipur, Jharkhand

October 14 (Thursday): Durga Puja/Dussehra (Maha Navami)/Ayutha Pooja; banks will be closed in Tripura, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, West Bengal, Jharkhand, Meghalaya

October 15 (Friday): Durga Puja/Dasara/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi); banks will be closed in almost all states

October 16 (Saturday): Durga Puja (Dasain); banks will be closed in Sikkim

October 17 – Sunday

October 18 (Monday): Kati Bihu; banks will be closed in Assam

October 19 (Tuesday): Id-E-Milad/Eid-e-Miladunnabi/Milad-i-Sherif (Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday)/Baravafat; banks will be closed in most states

October 20 (Wednesday): Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/Lakshmi Puja/Id-E-Milad; banks will be closed in Tripura, Karnataka, Chandigarh, J&K

October 22 (Friday): Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi’; banks will be closed in J&K

October 23 – 4th Saturday

October 24 – Sunday

October 26 (Tuesday): Accession Day; banks will be closed in J&K